The Road Not Taken

“I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”
~ Robert Frost

How true, to its very last word. Years from now, when I look back on the road that I have traveled I would not see a road that was paved and decorated by the millions of travelers who treaded down that path but a road that I created and leveled. I alone would know the hardships of doing so but the satisfaction that comes out of it is immeasurable.

Hello readers, this is C and this is my first blog post here and I don’t think I could have timed it better. The moment I saw L’s post I knew I had to follow it up with my views on the same. Not that they are any different from L’s, cuz a lot of it comes from her inspiration, but for a need to logically explain the root of my actions. (trust me, being Indian it is a character you are born with)

How easy is it to take an easy decision? It is very simple. No hard work involved, take the easiest route, no sweat, every body is happy around you that you have made some decision. But, how often do we think about the results of those decisions, are they really that fruitful? Are they satisfactory? My answer – NO! I am not just referring to my decision to get married to L but to the decisions I had taken years before that led me to meeting her and being where we are right now. However, it is the same thought process that made me write that email to her. I had realized that I was taking the easy way out. Running away from a path that people hardly take. Falling into traps of preconceived notions and stereotypes. It took me a while to realize that the girl of your dreams is not gonna come out of a marriage portal. It needs a leap of faith! And yes a heart to make a tough decision.

My biggest lesson in life so far (not that I have achieved all that I have wanted yet to talk about life lessons, but feel the need to share) is that nothing comes easy in life. If it does then it is just not worth it. Always take the decision that you know is the hardest to make, cuz they are normally the best ones and ones that have long term benefits. If we are to take a page out of any of the world leaders life today we will see that they never had an average life. Their actions and decisions defined them to be who they are today. I had not heard the Steve Jobs graduation speech at Stanford until a few months ago but it definitely rang a bell in my head. You really do have only one life, don’t waste living someone else’s life. We look at these people in awe and admiration and wonder at their ability to be successful. However, it is sad most of us end our thoughts right there.  We tell ourselves, not everybody can do that and build our own barriers of not achieving the same. The truth is, everybody can! Maybe not in the same capacity but everybody can!

Enough of serious talk, in the next series of blog posts L and I will be talking about more tough decisions that we had to make. If you thought what we took so far was tough, wait for more!! 😉

5 thoughts on “The Road Not Taken

  1. Thanks for sharing, Karen!! I love reading your thoughts on all this as we don’t get to chat that often and it’s nice to hear the “other side” as well ;-). Can’t wait to see you soon!!!

  2. Well done CHaran!! I too know that few things come easily!! Life is just one big adventure with lots of decisions… how lucky are we that we can have choices?? luv, liz

  3. All i know is you are reaching your Destination in 40 Days !!!! Therefore, about your Road … hmmm …… i leave the thought to you .. 😉 🙂

  4. Awesome post Charan! I am so happy that you and Lauren are moving forward. Easy paths are boring and unfulfilling. Thunderlove is a beautiful thing!! Love you guys!!!

Leave a Reply

